

Crook County

Mailing: 300 NE 3rd Street • Prineville, Oregon 97754 Physical: 203 NE Court Street • Prineville, Oregon 97754 Phone (541) 447-6555

August 7, 2024

VIA USPS and EMAIL to: Sen.lynnfindley@oregonlegislature.gov and Rep.vikkibreeseiverson@oregonlegislature.gov

Senator Lynn Findley 900 Court St. NE, S-301 Salem, OR 97301 Representative Vikki Breese Iverson 900 Court St. NE, H-390 Salem, OR 97301

Re: Oregon-Idaho Border Negotiations

Our File No.: Ct. Misc. 77

Dear Senator Findley and Representative Breese Iverson:

In early 2020, Crook County was one of the first Oregon counties to be approached by the "Move Oregon's Border" group. The County has watched what began as a small initiative petition grow into a burgeoning grassroots movement with support across much of the State.

This May, via Ballot Measure 7-86, we asked our voters: Should Crook County represent that its citizens support efforts to move the Idaho state border to include Crook County? The Measure's summary and explanatory statement made it clear that this was merely a non-binding advisory question, as State borders are a question for State and Federal elected officials, not counties.

The Measure garnered a great deal of voter interest. Nearly 10,000 Crook County electors voiced their opinion, with 5,149 votes, or 53.4% of votes cast, voting "Yes." Accordingly, following the will of our people, the Crook County Board of Commissioners wants to express to you that our citizens encourage continued discussions with our Idahoan neighbors regarding the possibility of a westward relocation of the Oregon-Idaho border, potentially resulting in all or a portion of the territory of Crook County, Oregon becoming a part of the State of Idaho.

Crook County recognizes this is a unique and complicated issue. We are grateful to have such committed and passionate representatives at the State level advocating for the County and its people. As always, we are here to support and assist you in any way we can.

Sincerely,			
The Crook County Board	l of Commissioners:		
Seth Crawford	Susan Hermreck	Brian Barney	_
octii Crawiord	Susan Hermiteck	Difaii Darney	_